Tv Time 101

Controls your remote

I’m Officially Old

Posted by tinselkitty on November 27, 2010


You Probably Are, Too, So You Might Want to Quit Laughing So Hard

It was a sad night.  The weather had been sucky, I was feeling a bit off and it just hadn’t been a good day.  I was flipping around, contemplating the idea of shuffling off to bed and letting the day end when I landed on this.

Yes, Time Life Music still exists and it still hawks compilation CD sets of all your favorite music from back in the day.  My grandmother had many Time Life albums.  I remember commercials for them when I was little and they always had Conway Twitty and Loretta Lynn and George Jones and all of these people that my little kid self firmly placed in the “older than dirt” category.  Oh, and Boxcar Willie.  Always there was Boxcar Willie.

So it was the cherry on my crap sundae to find out that there are songs on this particular compilation that I know.  And that I liked!  Stuff that came out when all of America went through it’s new country phase in the ’90s because regular radio had been taken over by grunge.  Most of the songs were standard old country fare but there were enough of my songs in there that I was pissed.

How did this happen?  Just last week I wasn’t old.  Or was I?  Have I just been refusing to admit it?  That would explain the aches and pains and feeling a bit off.  Frick.  If they come out with an oldies compilation with Depeche Mode, Madonna, Bon Jovi and Vanilla Ice I’m probably just going to take a bottle of pills and drift off to sleep listening to 2 Legit 2 Quit.  But as Flying Spaghetti Monster is my witness – I’ll never be so old that I still buy compilation CD sets instead of downloading that shit.

Meanwhile, I shall console myself with these.

3 Responses to “I’m Officially Old”

  1. wildheart said

    I feel your pain! A few months ago, I was driving along flipping radio stations when I heard a Tom Petty song. When the song was over, the announcer said I was listening to an oldies station. I was in high school when the song came out. Then hubs lost what was left of his mind when he heard an AC/DC song used on a tv commercial. I don’t even remember what commercial it was, he ranted so long and so loud and the scene was so ugly! LOL

  2. one can argue that it can go both ways

  3. Oy Vey said

    I decided when my daughter started downloading songs from the 60’s, 70’s, and 80’s that I wasn’t old. She’s also a freespirit, kind of a flower child, but the girl loves her Elvis and Beatles. One thing, in her school the 80’s are making a comeback, they have 80’s day, one year the homecoming theme was 80’s (I was the creative director for the class float). It’s all in perspective, if my kids listen to it I’m ok.

Leave a comment