Tv Time 101

Controls your remote

Real Housewives of New York’s: Cindy Barshop is Accused of Discrimination!! OH My!!

Posted by ImaJustSaying on June 12, 2011


Real Housewives Of NYC Castmember Accused Of Discrimination!

real-housewives-of-nyc-cindy-barshop-accused-of-discrimination

Uh-oh!  Perez has reported….

The newest castmember on The Real Housewives of New York City, Cindy Barshop, has been slapped with a discrimination complaint because a former employee at one of her Completely Bare spas claimed that she was not only verbally abused by the reality star and her co-workers, but fired because she was African American!

According to Altovise Collier, she relocated from Atlanta to New York for the job after being interviewed over the phone, and once her employers discovered she was black, she was harassed on a regular basis, and would only get half of her $700 weekly salary in cash, so she couldn’t lease or rent an apartment!

Furthermore, she goes on to claim that other employees would tell her that she was only hired to “inject some color,” and no one would would teach her the proper waxing techniques, which caused her customers to complain. When she addressed the way she was being treated with Barshop, she was let go a week later!

Awful!

Collier says in a statement:

“They were very impressed with me — until they saw me. I was treated like trash and thrown in the gutter, damn near sleeping in the streets. Everyone treated me badly, like I was in some sort of sorority hazing.”

Barshop, on the other hand, asserts that Collier was let go “because of the quality of her work.”

Well, if this woman is telling the truth, then whose fault is that?!

We sincerely hope that these claims are false, because if not, gurl is going to have some SERIOUS explaining to do!

Especially if she wants to keep her spot on the reality series! She doesn’t come off as particularly pleasant or interesting, as it is!

What do U think?? Is Cindy guilty of discrimination??

29 Responses to “Real Housewives of New York’s: Cindy Barshop is Accused of Discrimination!! OH My!!”

  1. Carrie M. said

    I think Cindy could be capable of something like this. She is hostile and weird.

    • Carrie.. I wont be so hasty.. but your right she is weird.. weird beyond explanation.. I do not understand this woman.. the scene with the baby daddy was beyond strange..

  2. Dy said

    Rut-Ro, … I think she is weird, but I don’t think she is stupid or ignorant. :/

  3. Kat said

    I find the timing of this odd. U can usually have an idea about skin color through the voice (yes it’s true, look it up and compare singers u have heard. Something with the vocal chords). As weird and annoying as I find Cindy personally, I don’t think that she would do something like this with all the Bravo publicity she is now, and funny that the “victim” is suing now when Cindy is on tv. No dates are mentioned so if this happened before Cindy agreed to do real housewives, which was a year ago, and the woman decides to sue now, she’s looking for fame. If it happened after Cindy was on tv, I just don’t believe it ever happened. It’s too strange a story to begin with.

  4. Dy said

    @4 Kat…. It is a strange story isn’t it?…Makes ya wanna go..Hmmmm

  5. ThugInACocktailDress said

    If she had said she was fired due to not getting the right colored hangers, it might have made it more believable.

  6. Olive the Other Reindeer said

    This woman has a problem dealing with people who are in her own circle,,,yep..I do knda’ believe it,,,,,,this chick is strange…I agree Thug,,if she goes ape nuts over hangars,,this chick is capable of anything,,only thing this is unlawful plus this is just being a horrible racist if it is true.

  7. Dy said

    @6 Thug… lol

  8. Olive the Other Reindeer said

    oh I misread that.. Thug lol..too funny.

  9. Dani said

    I can certainly understand how people could attribute such an accusation to her just due to her weird demeanor. She always seems so distant and negative to me. I don’t know if this is true or not but her attitude does her no favors.

  10. ThugInACocktailDress said

    @8 Dy & @9 Olive thanks 😀
    I agree with everyone that cindy is a bit, um, special… Ok, I may be going out on a limb here, but could this be a publicity stunt to make her more relevant? I mean, here we are talking about her..?!!

  11. Dy said

    @11 Hi Thug..Lol…

    This is what I think..This person was not very good at her job,and got canned, and went to the press once she realized Cindy was on tv,and made up this goofy story.. hey it happens.. This story just sounds so out there to me.. I do not like Cindy, I think she is a goof, with no personality..But this???

  12. Carrie M. said

    Maybe Cindy was just being super weird and rude and this lady took it as racial because she has never dealt with anyone as strange as Cindy. As Imajustsaying put it she is “weird beyond explanation”. So maybe Cindy is guilty but didn’t do it because the lady is black.

  13. ThugInACocktailDress said

    well, what i do know, is that Cindy Barbershop hired an employee like herself: one prone to over-dramatize! I was re-reading the article, and almost choked on my iced coffee, when I read the accusation “thrown out in the gutter”! Doesn’t that sound like something Cindy would say? Maybe the Karma police decided to pay Cindy a visit? Does the “pecking order” apply towards her employees??

  14. Carrie M. said

    lol. the woman does seem a lot like Cindy. Wonder is she is a little too close to her brother too?

  15. Dy said

    Being weird and being racist are two differnt things..Anyway, we will found out what comes of this I’m sure..Just not ready to believe someone is racist so quickly over this story..Just sounds off to me.. JMO

  16. GingerTee said

    It’s not a weird story, it’s a sad one, if it’s true. I think most here know that I am a proud Black woman and unfortunately racial prejudice is still more of an issue than most would like to believe. In the case of CIndy though, we don’t know if this is true. RHONY never showed enough of a personal side for us to make that decision. This is situation where we all have to wait it out. While, I do believe Cindy to be strange, I don’t know about her prejudices. I hope for the sake of all involved, it is not true I don’t think this is a publicity stunt though because the damage it could cause can be unrepairable. I am thinking maybe a misunderstanding, Cindy is different. Hi Dy.

  17. ThugInACocktailDress said

    Hi @17Ginger! I really hope it isn’t true, but how can we know? I agree with the points you made. Because Cindy is new, it is hard for us to have much to go on, except for what we have seen of her “weirdness”. But that doesn’t mean that it couldn’t have happened!

  18. Rosie said

    Hi Dy, Gingertee & everyone.. 🙂

    Ugh.. It’s hard to say on this with Cindy. She is an odd bird to begin with, and doesn’t play well with others, so I could see it being a poorly worded termination.. But we just don’t know enough about her to know what she’s about. If it gets settled quickly, out of court, we will never know.

  19. Dy said

    Hi Ginger!!!.

    Hi Thug !!!

    Hi Rosie!!!

  20. Rosie said

    Hi Dy!! Good HW night tonight! Hubby is in London and India this week, so I have the Tv all to myself!

  21. ThugInACocktailDress said

    HI DY! Hi Rosie! Ready for back to back HW? Should be good with the OC reunion and NJ! Don’t know if I can handle so much drama in 1 nite! LOL 🙂

  22. ThugInACocktailDress said

    BTW Haven’t seen MrsHughJackman around lately..hope she’s doing ok..

  23. Dy said

    Hi Rosie, Hi Thug… OMG You Guys..I ‘m so freking excited for the shows tonight..Mob Wives, first part of the OC Reuinon..And Jersey!!!! Love, Love Love it!!!!

  24. Rosie said

    Hi Ms Thug!
    I love the reunions! They are usually my favorite part…
    I haven’t been around much, for a couple of weeks, so I don’t know when MHJ was last here.. I hope she comes in for all the drama tonight, I haven’t been able to talk to her in a while.

  25. Rosie said

    Dy.. Hi!
    Me too! Fun night of drama that isn’t mine! Yay!

  26. ThugInACocktailDress said

    DY&Rosie LOL! I am excited too!
    OC HW-Donn, Slade&Jeana as guests..should add to the drama! Can’t wait! Plus mob wives..love them! @Rosie, I’m with u, as long as the drama isn’ mine, I love it! LOL

  27. Dy said

    OK My Pretties…I’m off to get ready for the shows…YAY!!! talk to ya later..xo

  28. Rosie said

    @27 Thug.. Lol!

Leave a Reply

 
