Tv Time 101

Controls your remote

Who Died and Made Sonja Queen? By Jethro

Posted by ImaJustSaying on May 6, 2011


‘Real Housewives of New York’: Who died and made Sonja Morgan queen?

real-housewives-new-york-kelly-sonja-5-6.jpgSomething’s going down on “The Real Housewives of New York City” and it’s certainly not Sonja Morgan’s nose. Ever since this season began it’s been so high up in the air, we’re not surprised she doesn’t realize her dresses are too short for her advanced age.

In this episode, Sonja did the big “I’m here and you’re here” speech to new housewife, Cindy Barshop, with every intention of putting her in her place. “Real Housewives” fans remember that speech that Kelly Killoren Bensimon delivered in her first season on the show to Bethenny Frankel. It was one of the earliest signs that Kelly wasn’t 100% with us and it followed her throughout the season, though she never seemed to remember exactly how it all went down. Pecking order, Sonja? Someone forgot she was last season’s new girl.

Before that incident, Sonja elected herself the job as ambassador during a lunch meeting between Kelly and Ramona Singer. She sat there as if she were the arbiter of all things rational. In actuality, she really had nothing to do with the fact that the Ramona-coaster was in neutral and she had already decided to issue an apology. Nevertheless, Sonja patted herself on the back for brokering peace.

On “Watch What Happens Live,” Kelly Ripa very astutely pointed out that she felt Sonja had changed her attitude this season in order to get more air time. We’re inclined to agree. We think she saw how much the cameras and the audience latched on to the Bethenny/Jill Zarin circus, then Bethenny’s success afterward (oven toaster cookbook, anyone?) and decided that was how she’d conduct herself this year. She would concoct as many different ways to combine housewives for maximum conflict potential with herself in the middle of the action.

Well, Miss Morgan, we’re on to you.

Follow Zap2it on Twitter and Zap2it on Facebook for the latest news and buzz

11 Responses to “Who Died and Made Sonja Queen? By Jethro”

  1. G-sus said

    Doesn’t this reek like deja vu? To me they are doing the same thing to Cindy that they did with Bethenny. The whole pecking order thing reminded me of how LuAnn took B to task for introducing her to the limo driver as Luann instead as Mrs DeLesseps. Not to mention the whole, I’m up here, you’re down here conversation. Bravo may have been hoping that Cindy would have a little more snark, but it doesn’t look like that is the case.

    How laughable is it that these women take their so-called “social” pecking order so seriously?

    • G-sus, that was the first thing I thought of, too, when Luann was snippy sniping at Bethenny for introducing her improperly to the limo driver. Hell, she was probably mad she was introduced at all. One must not let one’s shoulders rub against certain other shoulders blah blah blah.

  2. Olive the Other Reindeer said

    G-Sus,,I find this show hilarious,,I mean who r they kidding ,,pecking order,,,,social scene,,when they were no bodies til they met the men they married,,,not a fan of Cindy’s,,but she don’t need no stinkin’ man,,,,lol

  3. G-sus said

    Hi Olive, I know, such a stupid way to think. YOu almost have to believe that they are making this stuff up, but they actually believe it. I don’t mind Cindy, but how much I would have loved for her to tell Ramona and Sonya to stick it up their arse. I am really disappointed in Ramona and Sonya, they need to get over themselves. The rest of them you expect it from, but not those two.

  4. G-sus said

    Wouldn’t it be great if all the “little” people had an uprising? Doormen let doors go unopened, limo drivers just keep driving, nannies let the “moms” get up at night when the babies cry, butlers stop answering the little bells, and houseboys don’t do whatever it is that houseboys do (schtooping the old lady would be my guess).

  5. Fleur said

    What is it with Bravo lately? The vast majority of the women on these Housewives shows have become so unlikeable and unrelatable! When some of them were dealing with family issues we could all relate to them. As a Mother, I found myself empathizing with Jill a season or so ago when she spoke of Allie having arthritis at such a young age. I felt Carolyn Manzo’s pain when her children were starting to become more independent flying off on their own and I despised The Strega along with the rest of the country. But lately, this franchise has ceased to entertain and engage me and instead is annoying me. It’s become a big waste of my time to try and watch. I really wish whomever is in charge of this network WOULD quit their day job! Bring on the recaps instead. I like them much better! 🙂

  6. Dani said

    Fleur – I still think Bravo is underestimating their audience and eventually it will bite them in the ass. I don’t mind a bit of the frivolous stuff and the petty arguments are inevitable but a little substance once in awhile would be appreciated. They need to give us something and or somebody to root for. Everyone has just become almost cartoonish.

  7. KurlyHairedB said

    I think what sets RHOB apart is the fact that you know that they have money but they are not in your face with it. They showed them shopping, but they never bragged about I have this, I have that. Other housewives – Vicky at her vow renewal told Don about 5 times that the ring was 5 carats; Teresa blowing 120k on tacky ass furniture; Sheree getting that Aston Martin only to have it taken away; Nene living in a rent to own house that they still couldn’t stay in; Lynn getting the eviction notice then spending 1500 on a leather jacket; not even mentioning all the foreclosures.

    I am addicted to these shows, but in the last couple of years, they have moved from entertaining me to me sitting here wondering WTF. They seem to have degenerated to contests as to who can outdo the other, talk the loudest, be the most outrageous and just annoy the hell out of me. But I’ll still watch.

  8. G-sus said

    I agree with all of you. If they are going to continue barraging us with these ladies bragging on their nanny ratios per child, cars, jewels, houses, staff, etc, at least throw us someone who has some snark and makes us laugh. Now we are only laughing at them not with them. Used to be that you could watch NY, OC, and ATL and actually have someone likable to tune in for, now, not so much. If Caroline goes all Bravado on us this season, I may have to say goodbye to the RHs. Well, except maybe BH.

    • When are we going to get woman who represent us beyond season 2? and not horing the cameras? I want a real perp and not one that will flaunt money they dont have while trying to just be a real family? that would be fresh..

  9. Olive the Other Reindeer said

    @5 I love your idea..little people Rise UP! I almostgagged when Sonja says one does not blah blah blah to Cindy,,I am really NOT liking Sonja at all! Like OC..none of the NY women are likeable or
    relevant,,,as a yung woman I need role models,,u hear me??? role models..that’s why I come here,,u ladies are my support system,,,scary huh?

Leave a Reply

 
