Tv Time 101

Controls your remote

“Mob Wives” Tough Talking Renee Graziano Dishes!

Posted by ImaJustSaying on May 5, 2011


 

New York Post –  Renee Graziano finally can tell all.  Some excerpts below

The VH1 reality series, which premiered April 17, has freed Graziano, 41, to talk about her life as the daughter of Anthony “The Little Guy “ Graziano, the reputed consigliere in the Bonanno crime family, and ex-wife of mobster Hector Pagan Jr, who was convicted of running a huge marijuana distribution ring.

“I’m no longer living my own secret life,” she says. “The best part of “Mob Wives” for me is being able to say it out loud.”

The show is the brainchild of Renee’s sister Jenn, and follows four women whose husbands and fathers are “connected” mob men, including infamous Mafia turncoat Sammy “The Bull” Gravano’s daughter, Karen, who moved to Arizona with her family when her father entered the witness protection program in the mid-1990s.

 
 
“Mob Wives” depicts the mothers’ lives, mostly on Staten Island, while their men serve time in jail, and takes as its inspiration the brassy “Real Housewives of New Jersey.” But Graziano doesn’t invite comparisons. “No Italian woman makes their sauce the same way,” she says.

“Everything for this show, there is no acting. I let the cameras into my life,” she says. “It’s like free therapy for me because therapy is expensive.”

Even though Graziano was “connected” to the “Mob” creator, she says she was the last wife to be cast. “Jenn waited till the last minute to include me on this project. She said she was getting even with me for all the terrorization when we were growing up.”

Jenn Graziano admits Renee, who admits she was “a dancing on tables since I was 3 years old,” was a natural fit. “Renee was made for TV,” she says.

“There is only one Renee,” says Graziano, referring to herself in the third person as she does on the show. “And my big mouth lets you know that. We’re not trying to embarrass our children or our families.”

But that doesn’t stop her from gulping shots of Patron on TV. “Patron and Bloody Mary’s — I’m a happy camper.”

Before working on the show, she was a wardrobe stylist. “I don’t play dress-up for camera. That’s really me,” she says. “I’m not a label whore but I do like Kadashi. I’m much more grown than the other girls, so my fashion sense is more mature.”

Now because of the show, Graziano’s father is not speaking with her or Jenn. I feel “like dead — it also makes me realize that I’ve taken a stand and made a decision that I’m proud of,” says Graziano. “The bottom line is I’m not portraying his life. I’m portraying my life.”

During one of the episodes, Graziano says, “I’m loyal to a fault,” and she elaborates. “Sometimes it hurts me. My ex-husband, I’m still very much very intertwined in his life. I’m the first person he calls when he gets in trouble,” she says. “It takes away from myself, my son; my emotional energy, it’s draining.”

But she clarifies, “If you’re my husband, boyfriend or family, I’ll do anything that’s needed of me, but nobody bosses me around.”

Granziano says “Mob Wives” is going “right to the second season. Hollywood is fascinated by the mob. The world is fascinated by the mob. You put that together with four strong women and you have a hit.”

3 Responses to ““Mob Wives” Tough Talking Renee Graziano Dishes!”

  1. LWoo said

    I still love Karen. Renee needs to find a different therapist!

    • LWoo.. Renee is really growing on me and friendly on twitter. She tells it like it is and seems to be able to change her life.. maybe one episode at a time? Will always love Karen.. She is really brave!

  2. Olive the other Reindeer said

    ohhhhhhhhhh thank u,,thank u,,Renee’s son just is the best..while Renee is going off on a tangent,,he takes it all in stride,,,I love love love this show,,,thank u,,so much for the recap..*hand to head finally…lol

    Hi Lwoo,,how r u,,hun?

Leave a Reply

 
