Tv Time 101

Controls your remote

Real Housewife of New York, Random Musings with Kelly Bensimone with video

Posted by ImaJustSaying on April 20, 2011


Kelly is giving like a 163 part interview to a blogger and the interviewer threw out some tough questions that Kelly unabashedly answered!   P.S.  So far its only part 2 so we have years to come to peek inside Kelly Land.

Some excerpts below:

How do you feel about the season 4 of Housewives?
Kelly Bensimon: I’m excited this season. I am just me having fun,enjoying my friends and my girls, and working really hard. I don’t wear drama well, its not my style.

How does it differ from last season for you?

It never differs for me from season to season. I am always the same. I’m the same filming as I am in real life.

What do you think of new housewife Cindy Barshop?

Cindy raised the bar for the entire brand. Its nice to see an independent mother of twins who’s hard working, easy going, and confident. Cindy shows women that you can endure family issues,work hard, love harder, and smile.

You have been on the receiving end of some negativity from fans. How do you deal with it?

At first I was blind sided by the hate that came from people. I always want the best, and it shocked me to see fans feel hatred towards someone they see on tv. I learned a lot of the “haters” were part of the Real Housewives of cyberspace and not a significant part of my fan base. On a personal level, I learned quickly to have a thick skin. Now, I thank Bravo every day for the ability to support myself and to raise awareness to charity. I’ve learned to embrace negativity. People are always wondering about me, and talking. Its when they don’t talk, you need to worry.


Why do you think fans of Real Housewives feel so personally involved?
I know that fans like the show for every group dynamic has the same 5-7 characters: bossy, leader, bully, victim, intermeddler, etc. And, voyerism is human. We all love to see/hear what we don’t know

Were you a fan of The Real Housewife shows before you joined the cast?
I had seen a bit of the show on a Jet Blue flight before I started filming. I turned it off for I wanted reality to be real, not strategic.

How would you describe each of your cast mates in one word?
Jill- maternal
Ramona- spirited
Luann- elegant
Cindy- ethical
Sonja- dreamer
Alex- responsible

 

What would you like your fans to know something about the so called “Scary Island” episodes that was not shown?

Kelly Bensimon: I named Season 3’s episode Scary Island for it definitely wasn’t Fantasy Island. I would have swam naked across the ocean to get away from the ladies if I had to. The filmed ladies knew what they were up to. What you saw was nothing. While this TV drama was occurring, my girls were at home. My nanny had just quit the night I arrived off the plane, and my girls were calling me 24/7. I was very disappointed by the ladies on that trip. They clearly did not act “aspirational.” But, it created brilliant TV. So, it is what it is.

Had you not become a model, what do you think you would have done?
If I hadn’t become a model at 16, I would have moved to CA, swam competitively, and later worked with children in some medical capacity.

Also Some Excerpts from the Daily Beast:

Are those lessons you’ve applied to Season 4?

Not only did I apply “Friendships With Boundaries” to Season 4, but I also made a concerted effort to be there for anyone that was in a situation. There was absolutely no way I was going to have a sequel to Scary Island. Alex McCord gets herself in some precarious positions; Sonja Morgan does, too. I spend most of my on-air time really consoling and talking and working situations out with these women. Because I’m not going to see anyone that’s around me—ever—in that situation.

There is no Scary Island—a trip to St. John that resulted in a lot of horrible fighting—sequel this season?

No, but I wish there were. Just kidding! It’s OK for women to cry. It’s OK for women to get upset. It’s OK for women to express emotion.  Is it OK to express those emotions while you’re being filmed and know that the potential is that people on their computers in Topeka, Kansas, are going to be blogging like crazy, and that YouTube’s going to go bananas over it? That’s not really OK. But is it OK to express emotion? Absolutely. Did I want to get out of Scary Island? I would have swam butt-naked (too bad Playboy wasn’t there!) as fast as I could to get away from those women. Believe me.

 After last season, you told The Daily Beast that you watch the show with your daughters to show them “what not to do.” Tell us more!

My daughters are in 5th and 6th grade. And they’re going to have to deal with a lot of women. But this isn’t on a field trip with teachers who are moderating. This is a group dynamic of six women in St. John, one of the most beautiful places—and I feel so sorry for that gorgeous house—with no parents. No teacher. No moderator. But tons and tons of wine, and people being like, “Oh really? That really happened? Tell me more!”

What did your daughters learn specifically from last season?

They learned specifically from last season that when you’re wearing bunny ears, you should have a good time (with sheets). Just kidding! They learned from last season that what we talked about is that bullying is not OK. It’s not OK for me to let my emotions get the best of me, it’s not OK for me to engage in any kind of activity like that, it’s not OK for me to choose friends like that.

Now in another interview, Kelly was a bit more gun shy and the lucky blogger to capture the interview from the RealCityHousewife blog.  As most of you know, the writer  @PutYourHairUp has created a new blog, Reality Crack House and twitter account, @Reality_Crack.  Both blogs and twitter accounts are still active so go check out her new digs!

RCH was able to wrangle an interview and by the end, she had a sugar contact high.  Or was is crack?  anyway, check it out below:

3 Responses to “Real Housewife of New York, Random Musings with Kelly Bensimone with video”

  1. Oy Vey said

    You know, I’m kind of sick and tired of Kelly playing both sides of Psycho Street! That’s not me, but I let my kids watch. Really? Dumbass!

  2. Bryan said

    “Ice cream and cake and cake Ice cream and cake and cake!”

  3. G-sus said

    Guess she forgot last year when she was telling everyone she was just playing a character on the show. Now I guess it’s the “real” her.

    I agree Oy Vey, there is not one part of any of these shows that I would let my kids watch. She’s a pure dipshidiot.

Leave a Reply

 
