Tv Time 101

Controls your remote

Update: Keith Olbermann ‘Countdown’ Signs off

Posted by ImaJustSaying on January 21, 2011


Vodpod videos no longer available.

Statement by MSNBC

“MSNBC and Keith Olbermann have ended their contract. The last broadcast of “Countdown with Keith Olbermann” will be this evening. MSNBC thanks Keith for his integral role in MSNBC’s success and we wish him well in his future endeavors.”

There must be more deets to reveal themselves soon.  Sounds like either a contract dispute or MSNBC wanted Keith out.   I am going to miss his special comments.  I have always said that if I EVER decide to remarry.. it will be Keith Olbermann.  That head of hair gives me the vapors..   lets not mention that man has passion… 

Update:

Comcast has fought its way through a battle to acquire NBC and related assets (including MSNBC) without being deemed a monopoly (which they are, and should be barred from owning NBC). For a preview of how dangerous it is to have one corporation control access to the Internet and cable TV, have a look at their new joint venture: RightNetwork.

I would imagine Keith Olbermann’s contract was up and to renew his contract is not aligned with the direction Comcast wants to go to.  It appears Comcast is looking to mirror FOX News due to money and ratings Fox is raking in.  UGH.

I assume Rachel Maddow is safe for now since they are bound by contract..

There is a huge defection of staff happening right now at NBC.. you can read it here     <—- LINK

33 Responses to “Update: Keith Olbermann ‘Countdown’ Signs off”

  1. G-sus said

    Ugghhh, please IJS, say it ain’t so. I am sad that Keith is going, though he will find a new venue soon I think. More uggghh-ish about the news that they want to mirror Fox. One Faux-news is one too many in my book.

  2. G-Sus I agree.. its disgusting to think and gives me angst..

  3. Rosie said

    I wonder what the real story is, too. It’s too sudden. IJS.. Oh no. Don’t tell me Comcast wants to be “Fox News”…. Ugh

  4. Bryan said

    I blame Palin for this!

  5. Bryan I agree.. Its all Palin’s fault.. lmaoo I know Keith will go to a more welcoming station condusive to his rhetoric.. I want to marry this boi..

  6. Olive the other Reindeer said

    thank u IJS for putting this out there,,I was watching Olberman as I do every night and BAM! he says it”s his last show and I was just shocked,,,I know he and Chris Matthews got “fired’ during the election for remarks against Palin and Mccain ( that firing was just for the convention) ,,then he was reprimaded this past fall election for donating to elections,,one of them Gabby Giffords,,but now looking back he toned down his put downs of Rupert Murdock and Fox news,,what pisses me off is BIll O’Reilly that pompous ass will
    be loving this,,,,We don’t need anymore Fox news where they spin a story over and over and people get hypnotized and believe the load of manure they pass off as news,,,I was so upset,when I was watching Keith say goodbye,,I came here,,hoping someone would give me the story. Where is a more welcoming station condusive to his rhetoric?,,sadly,,we don’t have any..MSNBC is it,,,the rest are so right wing,,,,he was on ESPN for years,,maybe sports again,,I dunno’,,but i think it’s pretty crappy that Limpballs,,Beck,,Palin,,O’Reilly,slant head Hanrity can spew lies and hatred and a Keith is gone…

    It’s a sad day for Olive.

  7. Olive the other Reindeer said

    Bryan,,the brain trust O’Reilly says the reason people do not like Palin and Michelle Bachman is because they are pretty,,is that why u don’t like her…lol? I’m kidding,,,,she’s an idiot.

    Michelle Bachman went to the Iowa Caucus to make a pitch to run for President,,that..my friends should scare the poop out of you,,I know it does me,,,cuz can raise money like nobody can..scary times.

  8. Mikki12 said

    Lawrence O’Donnell is taking over Keith’s time slot. Can’t think of the name of the guy who is going to be on at 6:00 pm. They’re moving Ed to 10:00 pm which I think is a “death slot.” I liked Ed Shultz at 6:00 pm. Wish they’d keep him there. So sad to be losing Keith.

  9. Olive the other Reindeer said

    I like Ed at 6,,I agree Mikki,,that’s a death slot,,,Do u know if hardball will continue being shown at 5 and 7? Losing Keith is bad,,,When we really lost Tim Russert,,there was no one to take his place and never will be,,,Keith had his own program agenda and I loved it,,I like ED also,,his Psycho Talk is priceless…I hope MSNBC never ever goes the way of Fox,,,I am toeffing smart to be lied to.

    Pretty pissed over this.

  10. Mrs. Hugh Jackman said

    I blame Sarah Palin and Glenn Beck, AND I’m a Republican, too! LOL. Palin is a nut, but PLEASE make Beck go away. PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!

    Off topic. I was bad and stayed up. Channeling surfing trying to fall alseep. Caught Wendy Williams. Normally don’t watch her, but she brought up Simon of NYHW and of course I had to catch that. She said that Simon was upset that he hadn’t been getting more time on the HW show. I guess the producers then told him he could have his own show. I thought WTH. Apparently, he will have a show on the “web”. All I know is I hope Simon, for all that’s decent in life, will NOT being wearing his hair full of hair product, slicked down, and combed forward. Looks worse than a bald man, with a 2 strands of hair left, combed over. Simon looks like Jerry Lewis in the original “Nutty Professor” when he does that. Greasy & gross.

  11. Mrs. Hugh Jackman said

    Off-topic, but thinking of news man Anderson Cooper. I have always liked him. Wonder if NeNe is still his favorite HW after that blow-up she had on Kandi’s tour bus?

  12. Mrs. Hugh Jackman said

    WTH do I do that?! Meant to say “Channel surfing…….”

  13. Olive the other Reindeer said

    my brother just called me and said Keith has a clause that he cannot pursue any networks for a year or so,,also Rachel Maddow
    ( who is Keith’s good friend ),,was on the Bill Maher show,,MSNBC made Keith stop the worst person segment,,,Maher said he would tel MSNBC to fk off,,,talk about censorship..

    This is a bad day in the first amendment,,,Limpball can be so effing racist on his radio show ( mocking the Chinese leader and other heinous things like playing that song about our President ) Beck can say he is the new prophet,,,Palin can incite guns,,O’Reilly gave that abortion doctor’s address ( that was murdered) over and over,,but Keith can’t have worse person of the week. And Beck and company hide behind the first fking amendment. I will get a subscription to the Nation,,so I can get the truth,,not some regurgitated shit that Fox spoon feeds people.

  14. Mrs. Hugh Jackman said

    Olive, if it makes you feel any better hubby and I are Republicans and we can’t stand Palin, Beck, or Red-faced Rush L. We’ve always thought they were total idiots/morons. I can’t stand anyone to the far right, OR far left. You don’t know how we wish they would all go away. My sister is a Democrat, and she can vouch for me having to leave the room when I even hear their voices on the tv. UGH!!!!!!!!!!

  15. Olive the other Reindeer said

    I t does make me feel better MHJ…that all Republicans don’t buy into that nonsense. Thank you, Hun.

  16. Mrs. Hugh Jackman said

    Olive, hubby & I are embarrassed by them. It’s awful & a shame for the sh*t they stir. Idiotic statements that they make. They don’t represent MOST of the Republicans I know, and I know a lot of them. Like I said, I don’t care for anyone to the far right OR far left. To me, those kind of people are really the same. Nothing but sh*t stirrers. My family & friends are middle-of-the road Republicans AND Democrats (well, except for a few FAR left in-laws), and we agree on a lot of politics. I don’t care for folks that take extremes. GEEEEEZE! Hope that makes you feel even better. xo 🙂

  17. Mikki12 said

    @ 9 Olive: As far as I know Chris will continue at 5 and at 7. Cenk Oygur will take over the 6:00 pm time slot. He has a very popular webcast “The Young Turks” and has filled in for Ed, Keith, etc. on MSNBC. I read that the powers-that-be think Ed will do well at 10:00 pm because he will bring in more of the west coast and also bring in the later night viewers. I dunno. I’ve got a lot of favorite shows I like to watch at that hour. I’m not giving up some of Bravo’s 10:00 pm shows and I am not giving up “The Good Wife” on CBS. Not even for Ed. Maybe I’ll catch him when they repeat the shows in the middle of the night. Of course, it will be interesting to see if Ed beats Greta van Sustern(?sp)who has a 10:00 pm show on Fox.

    As for Tim Russert: there will never be another Tim. My Sunday mornings have never been the same without him. What a void his passing has left. As for Chris Matthews: I like him better on NBC’s “The Chris Matthews Show.” At least he lets the other people speak! He drives me nuts on Hardball. No one can get a word in.

  18. Fleur said

    I am totally in the minority here because I do like Rush, Palin, Beck and the rest!! LOL Olive, Sarah Palin has NEVER incited any type of gun violence and it’s not fair to accuse her or anyone else of that. If you don’t like her or Rush or anyone else, then by all means don’t watch or listen to them but please be honest about the things you say about them. People on BOTH sides of the political fence use all kinds of metaphors and illustrations to make their points and it’s not their fault if some nutjob acts out. It’s not just a Republican or Democrat thing. While I personally do not care for Rachel Maddow, Keith Olberman or Bill Maher they are still Americans I would never support silencing them just because I disagree with them. That is not American to me. If people like what they say and tune in then their ratings will turn a profit for their respective stations. If we the consumers don’t buy what they are selling then their shows should be canceled for nothing other than economic reasons. Millions of people tune in to O’Reilly, Beck etc and they make a lot of money for Fox so they fully deserve to be on air. KO’s ratings were consistently in the toilet and he was far from an objective journalist. As for me? I am a firm believer in God, guns and the US Constitution applying equally to ALL citizens.

  19. Fleur said

    @17 Mikki I agree. There will never be another Tim Russert. The man was a class act all the way around. Oh, I also have to add that while I do like O’Reilly, I often find him to be an arrogant windbag who rarely lets his guests have their say. That’s when I just change the channel.

  20. Olive the other Reindeer said

    Fleur,,I agree change the channel if you don’t like a show,,which is what I do…The metaphors…maybe I don’t remember it being this bad,,but I truly don’t…I cannot stomach Palin, Beck,,Limbaugh O’Reily,,Bachman,,so I do not watch them.

    Mikki,,,Ed is not is a good slot for me because of being on the East coast…my DVR will be working overtime. I used to watch the Young Turks online,,,he is good,,,

    MHJ,,I don’t like extremism either,,but I really hate the racist bigorty,,and that is what the basic is,,,they cannot stand the idea of a black man in the White House.

    Ok,,Im done,,,

  21. Mrs. Hugh Jackman said

    Hi everyone! I think must be the weird one of the bunch. LOL.

    Olive, I don’t like extremism either. Like I mentioned, I don’t like FAR right or FAR left. (Of course, the way I see/interpret far right & far left to be.)

    As a Republican (most of the time, have voted Dem. at times), I don’t care for Palin, Beck, or Limbaugh. (I have my reasons, each one different for each individual, for not caring for them.) However, I don’t mind O’Reilly. Can he be full of himself at times? Sure. However, I think a lot of these anchors on the right/left, etc. (Public figures like politicians and some of these celebrities that are always talking politics are FULL of themselves. They have a big ego, some bigger than others & think they know it all. I’ve got news for them. No one knows it all, & please don’t shove your crap down my mouth.)

    I like President Obama & VP Biden, even though I’m not a Democrat. Don’t agree with everything they say or do. I respect them though because they are my President and VP.

    I like John McCain just fine. Don’t like Sarah Palin.

    Like I said, I don’t mind O’Reilly. Even Jon Stewart has agreed with him on some things. I really like Jon, and he cracks me up.

    I don’t like Bill Maher. Ease up Bill. I actually use to watch Bill some, but he’s full of himself imo. I prefer Jon any day.

    Another one I don’t care for is Michael Moore. He comes across as very arrogant. I use to like him fine years & years ago. He even said, I think it was on “Larry King” (more than one show I believe) that he could move into the White House to help President Obama. Run for president Michael if you think you can do better.

    People are going to like who they like, and not like who they don’t like OR can’t stand. Hey, considering how many different people there are in this country & with all the diverse beliefs, it’s still amazing to me just how well we get along with one another.

    Hubby & I are Republicans. Kids are Democrats for most part. Go figure. LOL. Hubby’s side & my side of the family have both parties that they love. Main thing is we agree to disagree.

  22. Fleur said

    @21 Mrs. and Olive I agree! I’m with y’all. I just change the channel or don’t vote for someone. I’d actually vote for a Democrat or whomever if their philosophies were the same as mine. I don’t tend to follow the party lines thing either. I prefer to vote for an individual. Funny thing about the last election… I was the opposite of MHJ. I liked Palin but was not a John McCain fan. HAHA I admired his patriotism but didn’t want him for president. He was too wishy washy for me. Just thought there were far better choices for the GOP than McCain.
    Personally, I have no problem with a Bi-Racial or Black president but I do not like or trust Barack Obama at all for reasons that are to numerous to list. My dislike and distrust have nothing to do with the fact that he’s bi-racial. Just because people don’t like him or didn’t vote for him does not automatically mean they are racist. The same could be argued in reverse. If someone is black and didn’t vote for McCain/Palin then are they racist and sexist? It’s not color I have an issue with, it’s character although I do think that BHO is a racist and dislikes whites. His own statements confirm this. While I may not care for him personally he is the POtuS and I respect the office. For the next election I actually like Hermain Cain or Allen West. They are both great and they are both conservative black men.

    Y’all have a great Sunday! Off to ride my horses before the rain hits. Hope our beloved TK is feeling much better!

  23. Fleur said

    @MHJ, I’m with you. Not a fan of Maher’s or Moore’s. They’re buttheads! LOL

  24. Mrs. Hugh Jackman said

    @23 Fleur, LMAO!! 🙂

  25. Mikki12 said

    Fleur: Did I understand you correctly in #22? Are you saying that President Obama doesn’t like whites? I am not looking to get into any sort of political argument but I’m curious as why you feel this way. I was always under the impression that Obama loved his white mother very much and his white grandparents who helped raise him. What statements has he made? I don’t pay much attention to these things and now you’ve got my curiosity going. Yeah..yeah..I know..Curiosity killed the cat. But I’ve just got to know.

  26. Fleur said

    @25 Mikki I’m not offended nor do I think you’re trying to argue. We’re all entitled to our differing opinions. That’s what makes this country great.
    Here are a few quotes from Obama’s book, “Dreams From My Father” that I find vey anti-White.
    “I ceased to advertise my mother’s race at the age of 12 or 13, when I began to suspect that by doing so I was ingratiating myself to whites.”
    “I never emulate white men and brown men whose fates didn’t speak to my own. It was into my father’s image, the black man, son of Africa, that I’d packed all the attributes I sought in myself, the attributes of Martin and Malcolm, Dubois and Mandela.”
    “There was something about him that made me wary, a little too sure of himself, maybe. And white.”

    There are other things he’s said as well. My honest opinion? Yes I think he’s racist and so is his wife. I also think they don’t care for America or Americans. Particularly those who happen to be white. I was also furious with his attitude towards the white police officers in Cambridge, Mass. and his attitude towards the guy who shot all of our soldiers at Fort Hood. Not to mention his good buddy Jeremiah Wright and the fact that his injustice dept failed to prosecute the black panthers for voter intimidation. Racism is wrong no matter what color skin it emanates from.
    I’m not telling anyone what to think of this man or how to feel about him. I’m just stating why I believe what I believe.

  27. Fleur said

    Olive, I owe you an apology! I re-read read my post #18 and to me it sounded like I was jumping your case. I’m sorry! My words came off a bit harsher than I intended and I hope I didn’t offend you. That was not my intention at all. Thanks, Fleur

  28. LWoo said

    I ADORE Keith Olbermann! I’m going to give him support on Twitter. He and Rachel Maddow were awesome during the ’08 Elections!

    “Fair & Balanced” FOX News (lauhing at the word ‘news’), not so much!

  29. LWoo said

    Fleur, you don’t like Bill Maher?! *Gasp* I LOVE Bill Maher. We went to his show when I was in California. I almost threw my undies at him, but I didn’t want to embarrass my newfound cousin! LOL

  30. LWoo said

    Did you guys know that FOX News was voted as reporting the least-accurate information?

  31. LWoo said

    Maybe Keith can go to OWN by Oprah. I’d watch…
    But he might go back to sports.

  32. Fleur said

    LOL LWoo, I’m sorry but I don’t like the man. However; I have many friends who are crazy about him and I love them so I guess that’s all that matters! 😉

  33. Bryan said

    O’Reilly is one of these sexless republican horndogs who use Palin’s Photo along with That tall blonde skinny beanpole who writes all those crazy book, she’s always in black cocktail dress, as jack off material.

Leave a Reply

 
