Tv Time 101

Controls your remote

MSNBC’s Keith Olbermann delivers heartfelt “Special Comment” condeming liberals and conservatives (including himself) who have used violent rhetoric to make a political point

Posted by ImaJustSaying on January 9, 2011


Vodpod videos no longer available.

 

 

In the wake of Saturday’s tragic shootings in Arizona, which have claimed the lives of six individuals and left many more, including Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords, critically injured, Keith Olbermann delivered an important message about the place of violence within our democracy.

 “We need to put the guns down. Just as importantly we need to put the gun metaphors away and permanently.”

“Left, right, middle – politicians and citizens – sane and insane. This morning in Arizona, this age in which this country would accept  “targeting” of political opponents and putting bullseyes over their faces and of the dangerous blurring between political rallies and gun shows, ended.”

“Violence and threats have no place in democracy”   Keith Olbermann

Transcript of the segment here..

 “When we take up our arms, we’re talking about our vote.”

“To the teams that desire making it this far next year: Gear up! In the battle, set your sights on next season’s targets! From the shot across the bow — the first second’s tip-off — your leaders will be in the enemy’s crosshairs, so you must execute strong defensive tactics,” she wrote. “You won’t win only playing defense, so get on offense!”

 “Commonsense Conservatives & lovers of America: ‘Don’t Retreat, Instead – RELOAD!’    Sarah Palin

But a Palin aide is now explaining that it was all a misunderstanding: the infamous cross hair map image was never meant to evoke guns or violence.  Um..  people did not just notice the rhetoric being used to garner attention to politicking but we do know that no one had held this type of rhetoric accountable.

 “I want people in Minnesota armed and dangerous on this issue of the energy tax because we need to fight back. Thomas Jefferson told us ‘having a revolution every now and then is a good thing,’ and the people — we the people — are going to have to fight back hard if we’re not going to lose our country.”

“That’s why people need to continue to go to the town halls, continue to melt the phone lines of their liberal members of Congress, and let them know, under no certain circumstances will I give the government control over my body and my health care decisions.” -Rep. Michele Bachmann (R-MN), a pro-lifer who completely missed the irony of using the same slogan as the pro-choice movement in arguing against health care reform.

“It’s part of Satan I think to say that this is “gay.” It’s anything but gay.”

“If you’re involved in the gay and lesbian lifestyle, it’s bondage. It is personal bondage, personal despair and personal enslavement.”

-Rep. Rep. Michele Bachmann, March 2009

Thank you Keith Olbermann for your consise and clear plea to resist violent type speak, expression and action.

23 Responses to “MSNBC’s Keith Olbermann delivers heartfelt “Special Comment” condeming liberals and conservatives (including himself) who have used violent rhetoric to make a political point”

  1. Olive the other reindeer said

    Sorry IJS,,I posted that link,,,sorry to overstep

  2. Olive its all good!! I didnt see you linking the post but how ever we get the message out is all good to me!

    Now in this post I do mention Sarah Palin so that troll can try and convince us again that this should be a taboo subject because someone had tragically died in this mess. Its because people where hurt and died is WHY we should be addressing this issue. If anything to get people to think is a great start.

  3. Olive the other reindeer said

    Exactly!..all of our hearts go out to the families,,,but this rhetoric has gone on too long,,they have gotten away with it,,and the troll is surprised there are other casualties? Where did Dr. Laura get a job after saying that hateful “N” word so many times on her radio station,,FOX,,,
    Thank u IJS,,,,this opens to a very good debate,

  4. mikki12 said

    Keith Olbermann’s Special Comments are always good. His liberal audience always loves them. It’s too bad that more people sitting on the fence don’t take his words to heart. I am so sad right now. I have been waiting all of my life for things to get better for all of us in this country. Things just seem to be getting worse and worse.

  5. Mikki I so agree. BTW I do have a serious crush on Keith and used to call him my future husband. Dang all the passion and fire mixed with the silvery head of hair gives me the vapors.. 😉

  6. Olive the other reindeer said

    IJS and Mikki,,my brother said that when Keith was suspended for contributing to political races…Rep. Gifford was one of the ones he contributed to.

    I wish my hero Tim Russert was still alive,,he was my personal hero,,,His son Luke is following in his footsteps and said he thought it was very interesting that Boehner was one of the first to give a statement. hmmm makes u wonder

    I go to the political discussion boards a lot,,and the hatred that is written,,,sickens me….

  7. Oh Olive.. the venomeous comments on people defending their politics is just too ugly. I cant do it.

  8. Olive the other reindeer said

    I know IJS,,the things people say ,,for my own mental health I had to stop,,
    I always say the things people do in the Name of God is so hateful,,,they intertwine their politics with God,,which to memakes it worse.

  9. Olive.. I hear you. People who preach intolerance and who only care for their own vested interests hide behind a wall perpetuating hate and political discourse

  10. LWoo said

    I’ve been following this since the news broke. I am so heartbroken for their families. This kind of thing never make sense.

    Did you guys see that one of the victims is a 9-year old baby? 😦 Horrible.

  11. Dy said

    @4 Mikki, I so agree with you

    @10 Lwoo, No it doesn’t does it? Tragic,Sad, Senseless.

  12. mikki12 said

    Olive: Agree with you about Tim Russert. My husband and I loved him. Never missed “Meet the Press” with Tim. Now we hardly watch it. When he died I felt as if I had lost a friend and I don’t usually feel that way about celebrities. So glad Luke is on the air. Makes me feel as if we still have Tim with us.

  13. mikki12 said

    @ #6 Olive: My husband and I were also huge fans of Tim Russert. We never missed a Sunday morning with Tim and “Meet the Press.’ when he died I felt as if I’d lost a friend and I don’t usually feel that way about celebrities. So glad his son Luke is on the air. Makes me feel as if Tim is still with us. I’ve read some comments posted by the idiot brigade. I don’t know what else to call them. Don’t mean to offend anyone who may be very religious but when I see comments referring to the 9 year old child that say “She is in heaven with Jesus” I want to scream. I believe in God. Truly I do. But this would give me no comfort if that had been my child. Senseless..just senseless.

  14. Mikks dear.. I have no idea why.. but you got stuck in the spammer jail. sorry charlie but no worries.. I posted ur bond 😉

  15. mikki12 said

    Thanks. I don’t know what happened either. That’s why there’s a double post. I tried twice.

  16. Leigh said

    @8 There is a great line in Woody Allens “Hannah and her Sisters”. “If Jesus came back and saw what was going on in his name, he would never stop throwing up!” I think of this every time something like all of this happens….

  17. Rosie said

    Hi! I couldn’t see the clip, but good for him!
    What a horrible tragedy! It is getting scary out there!
    Mikki & Olive.. I miss Tim Russert too!

  18. Rosie. there is also a link for the transcripts of the video segment..

  19. Olive the other reindeer said

    Mikki,,every time I see Luke,,I yell to anyone who is in the room there’s Luke!…When Tim died,,,I was home,,on medical leave AGAIN,,you don’t know how many people called me to talk to me about it,,as if I was his family,,,it was church,,Russert and football every Sunday,,,the guy who is doing Meet the Press just doesn’t measure up and I don’t watch it much,,actually I was pulling for Chris Matthews or Keith Olberman…

    I loved Tim Russert,,he made it interesting and got me into being a political addict.

  20. Olive the other reindeer said

    Mikki,I know what you mean when people say they are in a better place and a reason for everything,,what was the reason a beautiful 9 year old girl lost her life? I’d like someone to explain that to me

  21. Mikki12 said

    I agree. David Gregory just doesn’t cut it. As I said, we very rarely watch “Meet the Press” these days and, like you, it was a Sunday ritual. I was thinking that if Gabrielle Giffords had lost her life and some idiot would have posted “she’s with Jesus in heaven” that would have been the final irony. Giffords is Jewish. I do wish people would tone down some of the religious rhetoric. We don’t know the religious beliefs, if any, of the people who lost their lives. Sometimes it’s better to simply express your condolences and be quiet. Less can be more.

  22. Olive the other reindeer said

    Oh Mikki ,,I totally agree with you,,,when something terrible happens,,and people say “I don’t know what to say”,,it’s best to leave it at that,,the religious rhetoric becomes cliche and minimizes the loss,,the hurt,,,the one I hate is there is a reason for everything,,,again explain this,,,explain all the ugliness in the world.

  23. Leigh said

    What I meant by my quote from Woody Allen was, that so many people use religion as a weapon. That it is done in the name of religion.I’m am not a very religious person. All I know is what is happening in the world breaks my heart every day.

Leave a Reply

 
