Tv Time 101

Controls your remote

Oprah Winfrey’s OWN Network Has Arrived!

Posted by ImaJustSaying on January 1, 2011


 Oprah  Winfrey’s ‘OWN’ Network has officially rolled out today and I for one is very excited!   Oprah Winfrey Network goes live today with a cable channel unlike any you’ve ever seen, featuring a visionary lineup of original shows.

Here, Oprah talks to O editor in chief Susan Casey about taking risks, overcoming fear, and her exhilarating new chapter.

 Susan Casey: So why did you decide to start OWN?

Oprah Winfrey: My goal in life is to live out the truest expression of myself as a human being. We live in a culture that really only responds to that which is familiar, famous, wealthy—people pay attention to people who are known. I’ve always believed that that was what the fame was for, so that people would pay attention. For me, though, it’s been equally important that once they’re paying attention, you have something meaningful, worthwhile, and of substance to say to them—you’re not just yakety-yakking. In the early ’90s when I was doing the show, I wrote in my journal about creating a network for mindful television. Stedman and I were talking about the state of trash TV and what I was going to do, and he said, “Why don’t you own your own network?” And I was like, “Well, how is that possible?” Because it seemed impossible at the time. But as I sat with the idea—own your own network—I thought of the letters OWN, standing for the Oprah Winfrey Network. And I’m always looking for signs, signals, and so I wrote that down in my journal that night, May 14, 1992.

Then in 1998 when Geraldine Laybourne and Marcy Carsey came to visit me with the idea for Oxygen, I thought, Oh, this is the network I was thinking about! Only I thought it was going to be called OWN [laughs]. But maybe I got my O’s and my W’s mixed up! Maybe it was an X instead! Literally, I thought that. Well, I guess this must be it, because how else am I going to have a network? Obviously, that did not work out, and what I learned from that experience is: Put your name on nothing that you cannot control. Because you need to maintain your voice in all things. That was the great lesson. The mistake I made with Oxygen was that, for me, it was an ego move.

SC: What was different about the concept for OWN? Why did that feel so right?

OW: In April 2007, David Zaslav, the head of Discovery, came to me holding an O magazine, talking about the fact that his wife had given it to him and that he wanted to create a channel based on living your best life, because he thought the magazine did such a great job of executing that idea. So I took him into my office and showed him what I’d written in my journal. And I felt instinctively like, Oh my God, so this is how it happens. I realized it was of divine order when he came to see me based upon what I had done in the magazine. He didn’t say, “Let’s create another Oprah show”; he said, “What you’re doing is really perfect for a channel—how do we create a channel that helps people the same way your magazine does?” So I said, “Oh my goodness! This is a sign!”

SC: Well, we need it now more than ever. So much on television these days is unwatchable.

OW: It’s just created to blur the senses. It feels like Halloween candy. Gobble it down and at the end you don’t feel better—you’re like, Why did I do that to myself? In recent years I started to feel that, Gee, television has lost its mind. There’s no mindfulness there anymore. You used to be able to watch shows and come away with something—like with my favorite program growing up, The Andy Griffith Show.

SC: Or Wild Kingdom! I loved that.

OW: Or Wild Kingdom. You would watch it, and even if you didn’t learn something, there would be a thoughtfulness about it. An interesting aspect—something that sort of opened you up a little bit, that brought a little piece of light into whatever it is you were doing. Bonanza, for goodness’ sake! Any number of shows for a long, long, long time—television actually did that. And in recent years I started to notice it doesn’t. Television doesn’t make me feel good. There’s nothing about it that makes me feel good. I literally do not have it on at any time in my personal space, be it in the office, be it in my makeup room. If I walk in and it’s on, I will say, “Turn it off,” unless it’s something I need to know or need to hear. I just won’t have it. I will not allow the mindless chattering of Halloween candy. I just won’t allow it. If you wanted to drive me insane, that’s what you would do. You would put me in a room where the television was never turned off.

SC: A lot of it is just mean and venal.

OW: Mean and mean-spirited and not coming from a good place—a lot of it. I think everything has an energetic field. There’s a beautiful thing Jill Bolte Taylor wrote about in her book My Stroke of Insight. After she had the stroke and was in the hospital, she could sense energy. She could sense, when a nurse came into the room, whether the nurse was thinking about getting off early; she could sense from the way she opened the shades or didn’t, or if she mindlessly put her food down on the tray. She could just sense energy. So she had a sign created that basically said “Please be responsible for the energy that you bring into this room.” Which I now have outside my makeup door. “Please be responsible for the energy that you bring into this room.” And that is how I look at this network: I take responsibility for the energy that I am bringing into the room. I feel responsible for the energy that I bring into the rooms of every single person who turns on this channel.

SC: That is such a big statement.

OW: Yeah, but that’s where I am.

You can read the rest of the interview here…

Here is the list of Shows to air here..

Also, here is the schedule of shows here….

          To find the channel in your area, please go here and on the far right side of the menu, is an OWN finder in your area.

Todays programming:

2:00PM
(60 minutes)
Oprah Presents Master Class
Jay-Z (Episode 1)
Jay-Z charts his unlikely rise from the Brooklyn projects to superstardom and shares what he’s learned along the way. Candid, raw and real, Jay-Z offers personal revelations about integrity, failure and why knowing your truth is everything.
PG, CC
3:00PM
(60 minutes)
Sneak Peek: Enough Already with Peter Walsh
Sneak Peek: Enough Already with Peter Walsh
A sneak peek of a new series Enough Already!, acclaimed organization and clutter expert, Peter Walsh, helps a family get rid of the overwhelming clutter that is taking over their home and impeding them from living the life they want.
PG, CC
4:00PM
(60 minutes)
Sneak Peek: Searching For…
Sneak Peek: Searching For…
A sneak peek of a new docu-series following the real-life work of Pam Slaton, a Professional Investigative Genealogist, stay-at-home mom and New Jersey housewife.
PG
5:00PM
(60 minutes)
Sneak Peek: Miracle Detectives
Sneak Peek: Miracle Detectives
A sneak peek of Miracle Detectives. Two investigators, one a believer, the other a scientist—will travel the globe to uncover answers to mysterious incidents that transcend logic.
PG, CC
6:00PM
(60 minutes)
Oprah’s Guide to OWN: The New Oprah Winfrey Network
Oprah’s Guide to OWN The New Oprah Winfrey Network (Episode 1)
January 1, 2011 marks the historic launch of OWN: The New Oprah Winfrey Network, and in this one-hour special, Oprah’s Guide to OWN The New Oprah Winfrey Network, Oprah will present viewers with a sneak peek to her favorite shows premiering on OWN.
14 (D)
7:00PM
(60 minutes)
Oprah Presents Master Class
Jay-Z (Episode 1)
Jay-Z charts his unlikely rise from the Brooklyn projects to superstardom and shares what he’s learned along the way. Candid, raw and real, Jay-Z offers personal revelations about integrity, failure and why knowing your truth is everything.
PG, CC
8:00PM
(60 minutes)
Season 25: Oprah Behind the Scenes
Episode 1 (Episode 1)
Oprah and her staff plan the top-secret Season 25 premiere and the stakes are higher than ever.
PG (L)
9:00PM
(60 minutes)
Season 25: Oprah Behind the Scenes
Episode 2 (Episode 2)
Oprah and her team go on location where technical difficulties and a disagreement between producers threaten the show.
PG (L)
10:00PM
(60 minutes)
Oprah’s Guide to OWN: The New Oprah Winfrey Network
Oprah’s Guide to OWN The New Oprah Winfrey Network (Episode 1)
January 1, 2011 marks the historic launch of OWN: The New Oprah Winfrey Network, and in this one-hour special, Oprah’s Guide to OWN The New Oprah Winfrey Network, Oprah will present viewers with a sneak peek to her favorite shows premiering on OWN.
14 (D)
39 Responses to “Oprah Winfrey’s OWN Network Has Arrived!”

  1. Mrs. Hugh Jackman said

    No one I know, in my family, watches Oprah. I know. Probably only family in the world that doesn’t. My sil, her mother & sister, watch her show/subscribe to magazine, etc. They have even flown out to Chicago to see her show. In fact, sil gave me & my daughters some Oprah tees, etc. Sorry to say that we have never worn them.

    My sil would probably move next door to Oprah if she could. In fact, I can hear sil shouting now with joy at this news.

    It works out. Sil doesn’t watch any of the HW.

  2. MHJ!! Happy New Year!! I FLOVE OPRAH!!! This network migh have some programs you are interested in. ITS FOR THE CEREBRAL!! I KID I KID!! Shmooches lady

  3. Mrs. Hugh Jackman said

    @2 Happy New Year IJS! Love ya! Smooches! XO Well, you know me. I’m not cerebral. That’s why I like to watch “48 Hrs”, “Intervention”, “Hoarders”, “My Strange Addiction”, and YES….HW and shows like “Flipping Out”. You know the shows. The ones where no matter how many times you watch there will always be the same outcome. Same formula and same outcome. Well, 98.5% of the time.

    I confess IJS, I use to watch Oprah years & years ago when she was first on. Stopped watching. I don’t watch any talk shows. WTH am I doing?! Oh, that’s right. I’m watching a “48Hrs” marathon and hubby is shaking his head. He can handle the HW much better than murder cases. I must like to watch ALL kinds of nutjobs in action. I think K’meal, Turkey, DD, Salad, etc. would scare some seasoned criminals AND even some seasoned cops.

  4. MHJ!! I have been watching OWN all afternoon and so far they have their own version of hoarders more like clutterers without all the rat infestation and families seeking family members.. I tink you will like this!

    That poor man of yours.. oh btw.. I now religiously record 48 hours.. tanks alot for adding a new program onto my heavy tv schedule 😉

  5. Daniela said

    Happy New Year, MHJ & IJS:
    lol, I don’t watch Oprah either! Has always been on at a bad time and I’m not into talk shows either…the exception being Regis and Kelly.
    I did watch Oprah, when she first came on the scene along with Sally Jessy or whatever her name was. Chick had red glasses, but back then I also watched soaps which I haven’t in decades.
    So MHJ, you and your family aren’t alone.

  6. But this network isnt so much about talk shows.. but I do think Rosie O’Donnell is gonna air a talk show on this channel. This has alot of programs like TLC. ch ch check it out YOU TURDS!!

  7. Oh I forgot!!! Happy New Year Daniela!!

  8. mikki12 said

    Happy New Year everyone!!!!

    Daniela: You’re thinking of Sally Jessie Raphael.

    MHJ: I’m not much of an Oprah watcher but this being her last season and all I’ve watched some shows that were of special interest to me. Loved the show with Barbra Streisand and Robert Redford. The movie (and song) “The Way We Were” has always been a favorite of mine.

    One more comment on Andy’s show last night: Andy seemed to be having the time of his life but some of the guests seemed pretty “subdued.” I think it may have been due to that “marriage” between Giggy and Grandma Wrinkles. I haven’t quite gotten over that myself. Dina’s daughter Lexi was there and she looks great. Really turning into a beautiful young lady.

    Happy New Year everyone!!

    Daniela: You’re thinking of Sally Jessy Raphael.

    MHJ: I haven’t watched much of Oprah over the years but this being her last season I have watched some shows that were of particular interest to me. Loved the show with Barbra Streisand and Robert Redford. “The Way We Were” has always been a favorite of mine – movie and song.

    I’m still recovering from that “marriage” between Giggy and Grandma Wrinkles. Bad enough to see a cat and a dog marrying but why would a handsome dude like Giggy marry that ugly-ass cat?

  9. mikki12 said

    Oh, Jeez…sorry for this double posting. Thought I had lost what I’d written so re-wrote my post.

    And I didn’t even drink last night….

  10. Mikki – Happy new Year!! What??? you didnt even drink last night?!?!?!?!??!?!

    I DONT BELIEVE YOUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU (sonja morgan) 😉

  11. Daniela said

    Happy New Year Mikki!
    That was her name. During that time there must have been 10 talk shows. Sheesh, just never liked them.

    Heck who am I kidding, I watch enough TV.
    I’m not sure I have OWN in the first place. Damn, I just don’t have the head for channel surfing either.
    I did drink last night, Mikki.

  12. wykkyd said

    Greetings everyone:

    I see OWN has a new program called “Miracle Detectives”, where they investigate and try and explain miracles and such. Not really my cup of tea, but I’ll bet we can guess who’ll be TIVOing that show.

  13. mikki12 said

    Daniela: Do you have Time Warner cable? If so, I don’t know if I have OWN either. Although I would suspect that Time Warner would carry it being that it’s Oprah and all. Please note that TW does not carry the Wealth network so no danger of running into Danielle. That is, unless she gets that VH-1 show.

  14. mikki12 said

    If you want to check if your service provider carries OWN go to Oprah.com/OWN. You will be directed to enter your zip code and your provider and a message will pop up telling you what channel is carrying it. Mine is 104 and 840.

  15. Turd Brains… yes you.. I have links IN this post to check out the schedule and how to find the channel for your service provider in your location 😉

  16. Daniela said

    Mikki: No, I have Verion FIOS! I know Time Warner is in the City. The other cable company here in Westchester is Cablevision, which is antique. Home of News 12, but it is sooo freakin backwards.

  17. Mikki12 said

    IJS: Sorry..I didn’t scroll down far enough to see that you posted a link. And I was so pleased with myself that I actually found something on my own…Blind and dumb…lol

    Daniela: Check and see if Verizon Fios carries OWN. I have a feeling that it does. What carrier would be foolish enough to say “no” to Oprah.

  18. Daniela said

    Yes, Mikki, it is on FIOS. Oddly enough it’s not on HD, that is why I didn’t think we had it.

  19. Mrs. Hugh Jackman said

    Hey everyone! Ok. OKAY! Enough with the interrogation techniques. I admit that I use to watch not only Oprah years AND years ago, but I watched Phil, Sally, Regis & Kathy, Rosie and….no, you can’t make me say it….Geraldo and Jerry. (I loosely term those “talk shows”.) Yes, yes, for the love of all that’s decent, I watched soaps as well. I watched soaps as a little girl with my mother. At 7, I could tell you that Rachel was no good on “Another World”.

    I may just have to check out Oprah if she has a show on hoarders. I will NOT be watching any shows, like the new one, regarding animal hoarders. I just can’t take that. However, I will be watching “48 Hrs” AND “48 Hours Mystery”.

    Mikki12, I love old movies. I don’t consider “The Way We Were” to be too old, like “Casablanca” of course, but I loved Streisand & Redford. Redford was smokin’ hot! Have you ever seen “Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid”? Forget Paul Newman. I’d jump off that cliff if it was with Redford.

    Hello. My name is MHJ and I am a tv and movie addict.

    Is it CAgirl that is to become Mrs. Colin Firth? I thought about taking his name instead of Hugh’s name. I have watched “Pride & Prejudice” (all versions, but mainly one with Colin approx. 500 times).

    Does anyone know how Mrs. Colbert is doing? Love ya sis!

    Does anyone know how wildheart is doing? I haven’t seen her here in a while, or heard from her.

  20. Alright, MrsHJ – now for the truth. Did you watch the Morton Downey Jr. Show, too? Inquiring minds want to know.

  21. G-sus said

    @TK, Morton Downey Jr.? Wasn’t he the chain-smoker?

    If I had Oprah-type money, I would be spending every day sitting on a beach somewhere sipping a pina colada. Gotta love her for continuing to bring it.

  22. Mrs. Hugh Jackman said

    Yes Tinselkitty. Damn that truth serum. His face was always beet-red, too. Smoking and yelling. Bad combination.

    G-sus, if I was Oprah I’d be sitting in one of my mansions, like the 50,000 sq. ft. one in CA, sipping on a pina colada.

  23. Rosie said

    Hi guys and Happy New Year!!
    IJS.. Thanks for the info. I like my Oprah. I just TiVo her every day, and check her out when I have time. I don’t watch every show, but this last year has been great!!!
    Anyway, it’s my impression that if you had Discovery Health, you have OWN.. She took it over.

  24. Rosie I agree.. This year cant be beat! Some of her shows pissed me off and I would stop watching.. but all in all this year is great.. her shows pretty good so far on the OWN channel. Its a great saturday channel to watch when nothing else is on..

    MHJ I agree with you about sippin pina coloda’s. That an unich to hand feed me grapes and fan me.. 😉 What the hell am I am saying.. what good is a unich to me?

  25. mikki12 said

    MHJ: Are you another fan of the great movie “Casablanca?” Hard to believe that they were writing the script as they went along. Not to mention that they shot 2 endings. One where Ilsa stays with Rick and the other where she leaves with her husband. No doubt they picked the right ending. Yes, I’ve seen “Butch Cassidy.” Redford in his hey-day was to die for. Do you know that bit of movie trivia about Stresiand and Redford? Robert Redforsdwas asked what was he wearing in that famous bed scene with Barbra. His reply was “Aramis.” At the time, this was a brilliant and funny reply. Today, it seems the joke goes over like a lead balloon. Younger people ask “What is Aramis?” I know it is still around but I suppose it is a popular cologne only among the older set. Younger people seem to have no idea what it is. Gosh, do I feel ancient…lol.

  26. olive the other reindeer said

    loved when Oprah had John Travolta on and told her audience they were flying to Australia,,MHJ,,u had to have seen your man Hugh getting hurt during that stunt???? I didn’t know that John Travola flew for Quantis Airlines,,I knew he had his own jet,,,,but didn’t know he was a pilot.

    On the Andy show,,,everyone was in a great mood,,but Kim,,bitchy Debbie Downer,,she tried to get Nene’s attention,,but Nene would not give her the time of day…

    OK IJS,,I got my first big article to write,,Strange Sex,,Giggy and Grandma consommating their marrige…ppsstt there’s a tape,,ok,,I’m a really sick pup. so wrong in so many ways…hanging my head in shame

  27. mikki12 said

    Olive: I knew Travolta had a pilot’s license but I wasn’t aware that he actually flew for an airline. I wonder if that was the time that Oprah had all of her “angels” getting supplies to New Orleans. I remember John Travolta flying a plane but I thought it was his own. Maybe not.

    As for Giggy and Grandma Wrinkles: Yes, strange..very strange. Of course, it’s not every day that we find a hairless cat and a semi-hairless dog involved in the same franchise. Can’t wait to read your article. Please try not to be too graphic..There’s just so much I can take…

  28. Rosie said

    Hi Mikki and Olive..
    Yep, Travolta has been a captain with Quantas for several years.

  29. OLIVE!!! If you will write the readers will come… WRITE SOMETHING WOMAN!!!

  30. olive the other reindeer said

    LOL IJS,,,um,,in the months that I have posted,,u know that I have a very very very warped sense of humor,,,u best watch what u wish for cuz this mind of mine,,it’s not a pretty thing…hahahahahaha

  31. Rosie said

    You’re right IJS!
    Olive! How are you? Any better?????

  32. olive the other reindeer said

    Rosie,,,

    I am so weak,,all I want to do is sleep..I’m a real wet blanket,,no fun,,*sigh

    How are you Hun? Hope your doing great…luv ya’ xo

  33. Mrs. Hugh Jackman said

    @25 Mikki12…..OMG, I LOVE old movie trivia. Yes, I knew that info & glad to see another huge fan. Oh, & it is wild how “Casablanca” was written as they went along, etc. Amazing that there were other classics like that. One of my favorite movies, another Bogart movie, is the “Maltese Falcon”. Not only changing the script at various times, but director John Huston was having an affair with Mary Astor. Have read so much about Astor, & the crazy life she had. Unreal and fascinating. In many ways, I don’t think the current stars/celebrities have anything on the old-timers. UNREAL.

  34. Mrs. Hugh Jackman said

    IJS, I will watch Oprah if she invites us to (one of) her homes. I’d love to see her home in CA. For that matter, I’d love to see her “farm” in Indiana.

  35. Rosie said

    @32 Olive..
    I hope you’re resting, you’ve been through so much! Do they have the it under control?
    xo

  36. olive the other reindeer said

    Rosie, for the time being,,yes I am resting,,,not much energy,,before I was like a fluffer in a blender..lol

  37. A fluffer in the blender?

  38. Rosie said

    Olive..
    Huh? A fluffer? Lol.
    Is all looking ok though?

  39. Rosie said

    Hi TK..
    I have to watch The Bachelor tonight. My daughter’s good friend Meg, is on it. Lol. They did shoot footage of my daughter’s apartment in NYC where Meg was living last Fall. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
