Tv Time 101

Controls your remote

Dance, Bristol, dance! Whoops, I meant duck.

Posted by tinselkitty on November 17, 2010



Can I tell you how much I enjoy it when the stories write themselves?  Looky what I found over at The Smoking Gun.

Like most Americans, Steven Cowan has been perplexed by Bristol Palin’s curious ability to keep advancing in TV’s “Dancing with the Stars” competition.

However, unlike other viewers, Cowan, 66, allegedly became so enraged by Palin’s success that he actually fired a shotgun round into his television, triggering a 15-hour standoff with Wisconsin cops.

According to a criminal complaint, Cowan’s wife called police Monday evening to report that her husband had blasted the TV and was threatening to kill himself. Cowan, who had been drinking, became angry while watching Palin, 20, perform on the ABC program.

As Palin, pictured at right, was dancing, Cowan “jumped up and swore, saying something to the effect of, ‘The fucking politics.’ Steven was upset that a political figure’s daughter was dancing on this particular show when Steven did not think that she was a good dancer,” the complaint notes. Cowan is pictured in the above mug shot.

Janice Cowan told Dane County Sheriff’s Office deputies that she called 911 after her husband blasted the TV and then pointed the shotgun at her. She added that Cowan warned her that he would kill himself if she brought anyone back to their home in the town of Vermont.

After a lengthy standoff with cops, Cowan surrendered yesterday at 11 AM. He is facing disorderly conduct and weapons charges.

He was sitting in the Dane County jail last night when Palin landed a spot in the “Dancing with the Stars” finals. However, a sheriff’s spokesperson told TSG that Cowan “currently does not have access to television.”

Damn.  Maybe I should watch this show.  I’m going to post this week’s dance for you here, but don’t go shooting the computer, k?  Then you won’t be able to log in with us tomorrow.  It’s just not worth it.

47 Responses to “Dance, Bristol, dance! Whoops, I meant duck.”

  1. mikki12 said

    I guess it would be a safe bet that this guy isn’t a Republican.

  2. Oy Vey said

    I’m still trying to figure out why everyone has their panties in a wad over Bristol. If you hate her mom fine, she’s not her mother.

  3. LMAOO!!! I bookmarked a similar article to blog about this later!! lmaooo!!

  4. Mikki – great assumption!!!

    Oy Vey.. I agree. Some peeps are just guilty by association. I thought Bristal should of been cut a long time ago but power is in the voters. I also hear right wing sites have instructions how to vote multiple times. This reminds me when Howard Stern was encouraging all his fans to vote for Sangina at American Idol. 😛

  5. Mrs.Colbert said

    Ugh….must fight jumping on my soap box!!!

  6. Oy Vey said

    With the way voting works it’s not hard to rack up votes: this week 4 text per phone line; 4 calls per phone line; 4 computer votes. Ok we have 3 cell phones = 12 text votes; 4 phone calls = 16 votes; 4 emails = 16 votes. So that’s 46 votes just from my house if I use them all, it’s not rocket science. Yes Bristol probably should have went home a while ago, but I am so glad Brandi and her fake humility and tears are gone. It’s a popularty vote.

  7. BobLHead said

    OK, I know two things about this guy
    1. He’s SO a democrat
    2. He’s SO crazy

    I never really got into this show, my receptionist is a RABID fan, but she doesn’t seem to bummed about Brandy getting booted. Hard to know for sure though, she came to work today with a shotgun, but she hasnt’ shot anybody….yet.

  8. Oy Vey said

    @7 LOL. Stay behind closed doors.

  9. calipatti said

    It has nothing to do with disliking Bristol or her mom Sarah. It has to do with Sarah’s supporters going online, voting as many times as they can under different emails. Some of these voters do not watch DWTS they vote for Sarah/Bristol.
    That is why most pple are upset.

    Why compete, do well when a person that has consistantly done worse will win because of who her mother is?

  10. calipatti said

    to … ImaJustSaying said ~ I also hear right wing sites have instructions how to vote multiple times.
    You are right and on those sites ppl have admitted to voting over 300 times.
    unfair at this point

  11. Oy Vey said

    But anyone can figure out how to do that. How do we know that that isn’t happening with Kyle? He’s been in jepordy almost every week and hasn’t gone home. (Not that I want him too). So BFD the whole state of Alaska is voting for Bristol, they’re proud of her and should. It’s not unlike the whole state of Hawaii voting for that one girl on American Idol.

  12. BobLHead said

    OK, sorry, but patti…have we met?

  13. BobLHead said

    Someone email me please.

  14. Mrs.Colbert said

    BobLhead, I just did.

  15. Oy Vey said

    So did I Bobl

  16. BobLHead said

    Mrs. Colbert, Oy….didn’t get your emails? weird.

  17. Oy Vey said

    I used the one you gave us the other day, can you email me?

  18. Oy Vey said

    Mine just got kicked back to me for some reason, I don’t know why.

  19. Mrs.Colbert said

    BobLhead, I used your new email.

  20. BobLHead said

    OK, got Mrs. Colbert’s (had to check my cheat sheet LOL!)

    I didn’t get yours Oy, but Mrs. Colbert will be emailing you the address again, just in case you got it down wrong or something.

  21. BobLHead said

    I got ya Mrs. Colbert…..and you are the BEST!

    Special batch of brownies headed your way!

  22. Oy Vey said

    ok 🙂

  23. BobLHead said

    Love you guys!

  24. wildheart said

    @1-Mikki lmao! @ Oy Vey, you are so right! At 2 and all your posts! Some people are turning this into a big deal because they are bringing politics into the competition. It has been this way every season. It happened with Kelly whatsername from a soap opera, with that pussy cat doll blah, blah, blah. I for one cheered when bitchy Brandi went home, much as I mourned the loss of magnificent Max! Brandi is arrogant, rude, and phony as Teresa ‘s tits!

  25. Mrs.Colbert said

    Brownies! My fav!!!

  26. wildheart said

    Oy, bobl, would you please send me your appropriate e-mail address? And some brownies while you are at it,pretty please? 😉

  27. BobLHead said

    You got it baby….just sent an email out, and brownies for all!

  28. BobLHead said

    Funny at 24 Wildheart, fake as APE’s tits! LOL!

    I don’t even watch this show, but I still want Jennifer to win….sorry, just love Baby!

  29. Mrs.Colbert said

    I want Baby to win too BobL. Plus she’s actually good.

  30. Oy Vey said

    Ok Wild just sent the brownies with the email. I need a new cheat sheet. I can’t find mine. 🙂

  31. BobLHead said

    I just dug mine up, you want I should send it to you Oy?

    I agree Mrs. Colbert….Baby still has “it”!

  32. Oy Vey said

    Yes please BobL. I would appreciate it!

  33. mikki12 said

    BobL: Could you also send me your new email address. I wrote it down planning to put it into my address book and like everything else in my house it has vanished. Thanks!

    Brandi was her own worst enemy. When is she going to learn that she is not an actress but a singer. That humble-pie act made me sick to my stomach. Too much emoting, Brandi!

    OTOH, it will be a shame if Bristol does win the competition. I’m rooting for Jennifer but I can live with Kyle winning.

  34. Mrs.Colbert said

    Hey everyone, I sent around an email with BobL’s new address…let me know if you don’t get it.

  35. BobLHead said

    I’ll get the cheat sheet around again too!

  36. KurlyHairedB said

    Was I supposed to get an email? Cause I didn’t
    I want a cheat sheet too
    Do I have to change my name? Go incognito? I could maybe buy one of Kim’s wigs and become a blonde haired, Dark Browned eyed Italain, my hubs would love it.

  37. KurlyHairedB said

    I could also be a Kim K lookalike, I have the enlarged behind for it, sadly not the rest of the figure or the boobs. And all my hair is real. Oh, and I also do not put my makeup on with a trowel. Forget that, too much work.

  38. mikki12 said

    @ 36 KHB: Are you trying to look like Victoria Gotti?

  39. KHB, what ImaJustSaying meant to say was that you must also ONLY wear a trench coat and a fedora hat and BIIIIG sunglasses. Think about that before agreeing. I don’t know where you live but that outfit could get mighty uncomfortable in the summer. PS, IJS is a freak. Don’t tell her I said that, though.

  40. Ummm, that’s not what freakanonymous is for, you know. Those people are trying to heal.

    • Oh chit Tinsel.. They dont LOOK like they are healing with all the ballon poppin, toe jam lickin, butt spankin, hair pullin and peeps wrestlin to DEMONSTRATE their freak.. Also lights are real low and special cubicles for privacy.. Maybe they are praying?

  41. wildheart said

    I so badly want Baby to win!! Really, Bristol deserves credit because she is not a performer in any sense of the word but she faced her fears and criticism and had a very long journey Len said. And, I just want to say I adore Bruno! I truly hope that Jennifer wins! No one puts Baby in a corner!

  42. BobLHead said

    IJS, I propose we boot Wildheart from the site if she INSISTS on continuing to post ON topic. It’s really annoying!

  43. Bryan said

    Pa can rest easy Bristol didn’t win and the show didn’t jump the proverbial shark….yet.

Leave a Reply

 
